IRB Member Roster

Members of the Columbia College Chicago Institutional Review Board (IRB), appointed by the Provost in consultation with the Chair, represent the interests of the College and broader community. They are charged with safeguarding the rights and welfare of human subjects in research activities conducted by or at the College.

In accordance with Federal policy, the IRB has, at all times, at least five members with varying backgrounds, experience, and expertise. The membership must include at least one member with a scientific background, and at least one member whose primary concerns are in non-scientific areas. It must also include at least one member who is not otherwise affiliated with the College and who is not part of the immediate family of any person who is affiliated with the College. Membership of the IRB will preferably include representatives from the three Schools.

Members serve for three-year terms, which are staggered. These terms are renewable.


Name Gender Affiliated? Scientist? Degree Specialty
Julie Minbiole
F Y Y PhD Molecular Cellular Developmental Biology
CM Burroughs F Y N MFA Creative Writing, Poetry
Joan Giroux  F Y N MFA Community Engaged Art, Social Practice
Olga Goldenberg F Y Y PhD Psychology, Social Psychology
Holly Herrera F Y N PhD Higher Education
Tim McCaskey M Y Y PhD Physics
Susan Padveen F Y N MA Theatre
Ellen Yeh F Y N PhD Curriculum and Instruction
Tom Barrett M N N MD Medicine