Paper Maker's Garden

The building that once stood at 754 S. Wabash had been home to several lounges and clubs. In 1953, it was Eddie Foy’s Cocktail Lounge which closed in 1964. In 1976, the site was home to Blue Star Lounge In 1989, the blues club Buddy Guys’ Legends was located in the building until 2010 when the club moved a few blocks down the street. 

Columbia College Chicago razed the building and created the Papermaker’s Garden in its spot. The urban garden showcases for students the natural, sustainably grown fibers for papermaking, thus merging science, art, and the environment.  The garden also serves as an alternative art site for sculpture, paintings, and performances.

The Garden, slated to move in 2017, will be home to the new Student Center, a five-story 114,000  square-foot facility, with whom the college is partnering with architectural and design firm Gensler to design and program; groundbreaking scheduled for October 2017. The building will house dance studios, analog and digital maker labs, and an 800-person event area.  

Quick Facts

  • Name: Papermaker’s Garden
  • Subsequent Names: Buddy Guy’s Legends
  • Address: 754 South Wabash Avenue
  • Size: 26,000 square feet
  • Acquired by College: 1999