Part-time Faculty Information


Photo: Phil Dembinski '08.

The resources and programs listed throughout the Faculty Development Portfolio website are available to all faculty (both full- and part-time, unless otherwise noted), and this section of the site is specific to part-time faculty teaching at Columbia.

The teaching, service, and critical work of part-time faculty facilitate a culture where students are able to learn from industry professionals. The experiences that part-time faculty bring to the classroom are a valuable part of the education students receive.

Visit other sections of the Faculty Development Portfolio to learn more about Part-time Faculty Development Grants and New Faculty FAQs.

Department Contacts
For questions and resources related to your department, a list of staff to contact in each school is provided below.

 

Save
  • School of Fine and Performing Arts
    Art and Art History
    Philip von Zweck
    Academic Manager
    Phone: 312-369-7428
    Email: pvonzweck@colum.edu

    Business and Entrepreneurship
    Monika Jaiswal-Oliver
    Academic Manager
    Phone: 312-369-7796
    Email: mjaiswaloliver@colum.edu

    Dance
    Pam McNeil 
    Academic Manager
    Phone: 312-369-8321
    Email: pmcneil@colum.edu

    Design
    Libby Wait
    Assistant to the Chair
    Phone: 312-369-7868
    Email: ewait@colum.edu

    Fashion Studies
    Maren Nelson
    Academic Manager
    Phone: 312-369-6271
    Email: mcnelson@colum.edu

    Music
    Jessica Shelvik
    Academic Manager
    Phone: 312-369-6272
    Email: jshelvik@colum.edu

    Photography
    Laura Bauknecht
    Director of Administration
    Phone: 312-369-7326
    Email: lbauknecht@colum.edu

    Theatre
    Mary Butler
    Director of Academic Operations
    Phone: 312-369-6154
    Email: mabutler@colum.edu
  • School of Liberal Arts and Sciences
    American Sign Language
    Nina Campbell
    Administrative Assistant
    Phone: 312-369-7837
    Email: ncampbell@colum.edu

    English
    Jennifer Loeb
    Manager of Operations
    Phone: 312-369-8101
    Email: jloeb@colum.edu

    Humanities, History and Social Sciences
    Oscar Valdez
    Academic Scheduling Coordinator
    Phone: 312-369-7690
    Email: ovaldez@colum.edu

    Science and Mathematics
    John Murray
    Administrative Assistant
    Phone: 312-369-7360
    Email: jjmurray@colum.edu
  • School of Media Arts
    Audio Arts and Acoustics
    Scott Lee
    Director of Academic Operations
    Phone: 312-369-8846
    Email: slee@colum.edu

    Cinema and Television Arts
    Margie Barrett
    Manager of Academic Services
    Phone: 312-369-6701
    Email: mbarrett@colum.edu

    Communication
    Craig Sigele
    Academic Manager
    Phone: 312-369-6843
    Email: csigele@colum.edu

    Interactive Arts and Media
    Brenden Wysocki
    Assistant Director
    Phone: 312-369-7196
    Email: bwysocki@colum.edu

Part-Time Faculty Association at Columbia (CFAC)

CCC and CFAC Collective Bargaining Agreement 2019-2023

C-Fac Office Contact Information
600 S. Michigan Ave. 13th floor, 1309B.
Hours: Monday through Friday, 10:00 am to 3:00 pm.
Phone: (312) 369-7485
Email: info@pfac.org

Teaching and Professional Resources
Both experienced and new faculty alike can benefit from staying current on what peers are doing in the classroom and in the profession. Below is a compilation of guides and examples of resources that may help faculty with teaching and their professional development. Be sure to check out the resources in the 21st Century Academic section as well.

For instructional videos, ranging from beginner to advanced, on utilizing a plethora of teaching technologies (including Canvas), check out Lynda.com. Through Lynda.com, Columbia faculty have access to a staggering number of videos on using technology in the classroom or for creative and scholarly work.